Class of 2018
Muffet McGraw
Ray Meyer College Coach of the Year

Ann O’Brien “Muffet” McGraw, in her 32-year run as Notre Dame coach, has left quite the legacy on the sport of women’s basketball. Coach McGraw boasts two national championships to her name, hoisting the trophy in both 2001 and 2018 – becoming just one of six women’s basketball coaches to win multiple NCAA titles. On April 1, 2018, 17 years to the exact date, and both on an Easter Sunday, Coach McGraw led the Irish to the ultimate prize. Muffet McGraw had one of her best coaching seasons, being named the Associated Press, espnW, and USA Today Coach of the Year. Just over a year ago, the season started with Coach McGraw becoming the 32nd woman ever to be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. She had previously been inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in 2011 and the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in 2014. Thirty-five wins later on the nation’s toughest-rated schedule, a co-share of the ACC regular-season title, a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament, in addition to the program’s eighth trip to the Final Four and the Irish became your 2018 national champions. Coach McGraw has led the Irish to six NCAA title game appearances, including five times in the past eight years. She is just one of two active Division I coaches to achieve this feat. The three-time consensus National Coach of the Year has accomplished 62 NCAA Tournament wins, which ranks third all-time, along with a total of 25 combined conference regular-season and tournament championships. Coach McGraw has achieved eight straight 30-win seasons and 10 overall, as her 30, 20-win seasons rank sixth all-time among Division I coaches. She has made 25 NCAA Tournaments, including a current stretch of 23 straight, which is the fourth-longest active streak in history. Coach McGraw is one of just five coaches in Division I history, in either men’s or women’s basketball, with over 875 wins, eight Final Fours, and multiple NCAA championships – joining Pat Summitt, Geno Auriemma, Mike Krzyzewski, and Dean Smith.

Join Us in Celebrating Chicagoland's Sporting Excellence.

Join us in celebrating Chicagoland's sporting excellence by supporting the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame. Together, we can preserve the legacies of exceptional athletes, coaches, and sports contributors, inspire future generations, and foster a strong sense of community pride.